Home » Sublett » Civic and Fraternal Organizations

Civic and Fraternal Organizations

In my family tree, I have family members that have belonged to several national fraternal organizations. However, I ran across an organization in studying genealogy that I had never heard of before (Knights of Pythias).

It seems to me that these are dwindling as the years progress. Since I studied Sociology I could theorize that the reason some of these organizations have dwindled is due to the diversification of our communities. The family is much more busy in times past. I cursorily searched on the internet and it seems that all of the organizations have suffered the same attrition.

According to the Free Masons webpage, “It is no secret that participation in the Masonic fraternity has been dropping for at least 50 years. Evidence of our decline is the fact that our membership totals are at their lowest levels in more than 80 years (msana.com).”

I was talking with a friend the other day and we both were discussing how hard it is for us as couples to find like minded people these days to socialize. So many people work 40-60 hours a week, have a commute to work that is over 30 minutes, by the time people get home, all we can do is make dinner (I know, probably not), kiss the children and do some more work (from home). This environment is not what my parents experienced, nor their parents.

I wanted to take the time to cite the organizations and family members that I know were members and see if my readers knew any other family members. I know there are plenty more.  So, if you recall one please let me know.

 

Free Masons

-George Wiley Whitehead (paternal second great-grandfather) ~Please see my post on George Wiley Whitehead to see how he was a civil war prisoner at one time.

International Order of Odd Fellows

-John Thomas Sublett (maternal great-grandfather)

Knights of Pythias

-Asa Chandler Stevens (paternal great grand-uncle)

Kiwanis

-Lawrence Walter Whitehead (father)

Leave a Reply

