Home » Moss » Elusive Ancestors

Elusive Ancestors

Elusive Ancestors and breaking the brick walls

I have been researching my ancestors for several years now. Some familial lines are easier to trace than others. I know I have discussed my brick walls in the past. But sometimes by writing about them, you are able to clarify details in the process. That is what I am doing today. It is a hot June day and instead of melting in the sun, I am inside desperately trying to piece puzzle pieces together.

I recently made friends with a fellow genealogist searching the Moss family name. This line has been intangible to me for some time. I have never felt confident with the connections I had made. She has in her line that a Moss married a Moss. Excuse me for a moment while my head mildly explodes. Is this why I can’t seem to untangle the mystery? In order to prove or disprove something in the genealogy field, you must have some set standards of proof. While I am a still a neophyte in this regard, I do my best.

 

Let us look at the Moss facts. I know that Thomas Irving Moss was born 20 Jan 1877 in Buckingham County, Virginia. The items that support this are his World War I and World War II Draft Cards. I know he married my great-grandmother, Carrie Lou Hicks on 30 August 1913 (I have the certificate of marriage).   On this Marriage Certificate it indicates that his parents names were Thomas and Margaret Moss. It also lists him as widowed. My newly found friend’s research indicates that Thomas Irving Moss married Mahala K. Newton prior to Carrie Lou. So, I will need to find verification of this at a later time.

My friend, Ms. Kim also sent me an electronic version of Margaret Ann Moss’s Death Certificate. The certificate lists her parents as Thomas Moss and Lucy O’Bryant. It is signed by T.I. Moss. The date of death is 12 July 1915. So, is this Thomas Irving Moss’ mother? We need to look at signatures. Are these the same people?

 

 

Signature on Death Certificate of Margaret Ann Moss

Signature on Death Certificate of Margaret Ann Moss

Birth Certificate Information (not sure who filled this out)

Birth Certificate Information (not sure who filled this out)

Thomas Irving Moss WWI Draft Card

Thomas Irving Moss WWI Draft Card

Thomas Moss WWII Draft Card

Thomas Moss WWII Draft Card

If it is, then I am going to have reconstruct my line. What are your thoughts.

 

5 thoughts on “Elusive Ancestors

  1. (1) I wish you much luck. Sincerely.

    (2) (This kinda makes my head explode also. Did he just marry his sister to save money on the monogramming?! 983?!)

    (3) I do have friends in real life who married people with the same surname – in fact, I even have a male colleague that I will call “Chris Campbell” who married a lady ALSO named “Chris Campbell”. And I myself dated a guy with the surname Stephens and one with the surname Stevens.

    (4) I would still love to have viewing access to your ancestry.com tree(s) … if you are still using that as a tool.

    (5) Stay as cool on the outside as you are on the inside, lovely cuz!

    XOXOXO MLS

  2. I have a picture of Minnie Newton . I will look up info pm her. She lived in Buckingham. There is or was a place called Newtons Corner. Margaret Moss Gough who married Randolph Gough lived near Newtons Corner.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. I think Minnie’s husband was J. D. Or some initial. They had a restaurant at the Corner.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. I kept talking about Newton Corner but it was Sprouces Corner near Buchingham. They had a restaurant there. Granddaddy Moss sister I think Minnie lived there .her husband name was some initial like RJ. Newton? You. Should contact Larry Lee Gough and his wife Sharon who grew up there. They. Live in Farmville Va.his sister is Karen Gough Barton .both of them still live near .

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  5. I Don’t know if I said anything about this but grandaddyMoss had a relative named Minnie Newton. She lived at Sprouces Corner. Lots of Newtons there.restuarant and maybe truck stop there. Motel and swimming pool across the road. My Aunt Margaret Moss Gough kept our family together after grandparents died. She would have. A big reunion every year.

    Grandmother Carrie Lou Hicks Moss Her daughter Lillian married a Hicks

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

